Advice on Optimising FPD

Posted almost 2 years ago by Konstantin

Post a topic
Un Answered
K
Konstantin

I use a shared server hosting and have 2gb allocated ram. I notice that I often hit this ram limit. Processing power seem to be within limit. Can anyone advise how I can optimise the fancy product designer pages? I am interested in 3 aspects in particular. 

First, do optimisation plugins like WP Rocket work well with FPD? If so, are there any recommended settings to use? I have limited website building experience and thus I am tempted to leave the recommended settings on. However, I fear this may break my website or the designer.

Second, I have set the canvas for my products set to H: 1200px and W:1000px. I feel this is a bit of an overkill, especially on mobile. Would recreating the products on a smaller fpd canvas improve performance?

Third and last, should I look into upgrading the hosting services I use?

Any advice on the above would be appreciated.

0 Votes

4 Comments

Sorted by
M

Mark posted almost 2 years ago

Siteground hosting if you are using wordpress/woocommerce, best on the planet for optimization and speed of your site. Second place would be Fastcomet hosting. These both cater to wordpress/woocommerce, but will be better for any architecture you use. I don't know your website setup, but those are the best hosting I have had, in that order, since the 90's when the internet first came out. I will never use any other host. They are worth every dollar spent. The results I have had speak for themselves.

0 Votes

K

Konstantin posted almost 2 years ago

Thank you both for your responses. This is some good advice.

0 Votes

N

Nils posted almost 2 years ago

Here are a few tips from me, with which the whole "Bloat" at the end user will not be so high:

1. use few layers in the design if possible

2. do without .png files whenever possible. Is often not possible but avoidable every now and then.